Thursday, February 6, 2014

How to Find Track Android Mobile Device Using Android Device Manager

Android Device Manager
If you lost your Android Smartphone or tablet without it having a device tracking app installed, its really a pain if that happens. Now you can locate your Android device associated with your Google Account, Android Device Manager can help you find, lock, and erase it.

Google recently released this device tracking tool, called Android Device Manager. Google offers this service to Android users. Android Device Manager is obviously a very straightforward and a very easy-to-use tool to track your lost phone.

Your android has been Lost, there`s no need to install any software it just has to be connected to your Google account. Though this tool has limited features but still a great tool to track your lost device, So once your device is lost I would recommend you to first check with Android device manager as to where it is located. If you miss your device somewhere this tool gives you option to ring your phone as well.

As per the assumption Google has now probably, installed the Android Device Manager onto your Android phone by now without your knowledge. This has been applied to all android devices which is at least android 2.2 and have Google Play installed on it.

To activate this on your device, go to the Settings > Security > Device Administrators and then tick the Android Device Manager, allow it to do anything it wants. Then open any Web browser, and locate your device via the Web interface. There are some other features too which includes being able to ring your phone at maximum volume when you've misplaced it.


You can turn on the following options:
  • Remotely locate this device. Find your device and show its approximate location on Google Maps. For devices running 4.1 and higher, location access must also be enabled. To turn it on, go to Google Settings > Location > Access location.
  • Allow remote lock and factory reset. Lock your device and erase everything on it. You can also change the lock screen passcode. Touch this option, then select Activate to turn on the device administrator.

This tool surely helps if you have lost your phone, or if it is stolen. You could actually get close to the phone using the locate feature, then sound the alarm and get ready to run after the thief. In case you were not able to catch the thief; you also have option to just erase the device completely to keep your data safe. Unfortunately, Google also says that it may not be able to clear the contents of the SD card in your device. Hard luck if anything personal is there, also once the erase is done ADM will not work anymore on your device.


In case this tool doesn’t works there are possibilities that the device is not connected to the internet, In such case just keep trying to track it until it connects to Google’s services again hopefully it will. This tool works until the thief has logged out your Google account, then its not possible to track it even from Android device manager. So actually this tool is really very handy until someone is too brainy than you.



Find your Android device

  1. Sign in to your Google Account on android.com/devicemanager. If you're using a Google Apps account, you will sign in to your My Devices page. You'll get a notification on each of the mobile devices that are linked to your Google Account. The notification asks you to turn on Android Device Manager.
  2. If you have more than one device, select the arrow next to the device name to change the one displayed. To rename the device, use the  Edit icon.
http://www.filesonthe.net/1bc87b7c

Locate a friend's device

If a friend loses their device, they can sign in to Android Device Manager on Chrome using your mobile device. They should follow the instructions below instead of adding their account to your device.
  1. Open Chrome, and create an incognito tab.
  2. Have your friend sign in to the Google Account that they use on their mobile device.
  3. After locating the device, have your friend follow the steps below to remotely lock or erase the phone or tablet.
  4. When your friend is finished, close the Chrome tab.



Recent Comments